Saganaki

21 Jul

It sits alone in a pool of salty grease.
It looks good, real good.
I watch her hands fold and gesture as she speaks.
What would she do if I picked it up with my hands?
Would she think me uncouth?

She studies it, looks back at me, and bites her nail.
I pour another glass of water.
She begins talking about work.
She’s stalling.

Placing both elbows on the table, I lean over it; guarding it.
“Can you please get some more water?” she asks.
I peer at her suspiciously.
Hesitantly swinging around, I gesture the waiter.

Turning back; she’s smiling, blinking slowly.
Like a cat in sunlight, she looks warm and content.
“I love you” she says sliding down into her seat.
“I love ……”
The plates empty.
“It was good” she says.

One Response to “Saganaki”

  1. Stoddy July 29, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Cheeky bitch.

Leave a Reply

